Skip to content
July 26, 2012 / haubertdashery

TINY APARTMENT PARTY #1

NUMERO UNO: Nachos, Kitties, & Clothing

Tonight was the first party in a series of parties called The Tiny Apartment Party. It’s an ongoing string of events all set in my tiny apartment. Now when I say tiny, I mean Omaha tiny. My oldest sister, Judy, and her husband, Jay, have an apartment in NYC almost exactly the same size as mine and it’s huge by that city’s standards. Seriously, if you moved my physical apartment to New York City, I wouldn’t even be able to afford to live in the bathroom. But this isn’t NYC, so my apartment is tiny.

It just so happens that I also like to entertain. I honestly don’t know where that trait comes from, but I think all three of us sisters have it. This means that we all cook to some degree, some of us (much, much, much) better than others. Maddie mentioned nachos the other night and that seemed like the perfect menu item (also, the only menu item).  Everything I make starts out with onions and garlic and since pusscake eyeballs run in the fam, mine start running the minute I look at an onion. Fortunately, my middle sister, Susan, found a solution years ago. Goggles. She used her chemistry goggles.  I use my furniture-refinishing goggles.

I don’t think I’ve mentioned this yet, but…I’m not so good with the photos.

So I started the nachos.  Tara showed up and helped out quite a bit, and by the time the rest of ladies arrived, we were making drinks. A few minutes under the broiler and this is what we got:

This is only about a third of what I made. The rest of it had been devoured by the time I remembered to take a picture.

a very blurry picture of (clockwise from bottom left) Tara, Kylie, Kelly, & Maddie

The whole reason this specific Tiny Apartment Party came about, was because Maddie needed to come over to get a bridesmaid dress altered. I had also mentioned to Kylie and Kelly that I had a mountain of clothes for them to go through. Kelly made a new kitty-baby-sister-friend and from there it just spiraled into nachos, kitties, & clothing.

bags upon bags of clothing I needed to find homes for

if you look really hard you can see the Clementine. I think by this point in the night, Kelly and Clemmy had become inseparable.

And we rounded out the night (yet again) with dessert.

Maddie makes a mean fro-yo concoction

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Judy Haubert / Jul 26 2012 9:06 am
    • haubertdashery / Jul 26 2012 1:06 pm

      I had no idea. Wow, that’s awesome! And what a bizarre coincidence…

  2. Susan / Jul 30 2012 6:36 pm

    Judy taught me another trick to help with the pusscake eyeballs probs. Try running tap water nearby during the onion cutting. It helps. Something about disrupting the flow of onion vapors or some crazy sh*t like that.

    P.S. Bring me some bags of clotheses

Leave a Reply

