Skip to content
July 29, 2012 / haubertdashery

Haubertdashery: Thrifting Aficionado

My oldest sister, Judy, introduced me to thrifting when I was 10 or 11.  I don’t remember the specifics of our first trip, but I DO know that she took me to Valley Thrift, which is still the best thrift store (over a decade and a half later) that I’ve ever been to. Unfortunately, Valley Thrift is in my hometown in Ohio.  Whenever I’m heading back to Cincinnati, I plan my luggage around a trip to this store of wonders.  I only make it back to Ohio once a year, so I’ve had to make do with the local purveyors of secondhand goods.  On this day, Goodwill was my thrift store of choice. Although it can be expensive, I usually find the most unique treasures here.  Today was no exception.

First, the bad, the bad, & the ugly

perfect for your Edgar Allen Poe reading group!

and this sweater wasn’t even wool

I used to feel sorry for items like this when I was out thrifting, but now I know these sweaters aren’t destined to be orphans for long, because somewhere in Omaha, a hipster is searching for a sweater exactly like one of these, hoping to pair it with his porkpie hat and highwater skinny jeans.

Like any good thrift store there is always a plethora of cat paraphernalia to go with your ironic sweater.  These were….the..best?

please take us home……so we can salt and pepper the meal you eat alone every night in your tiny apartment

am I sure this isn’t a gargoyle? no.. I can’t say that I am.

On to the really peculiar items…

amputee Lucifer disguised as the Pied Piper?

Mmmmmm….velveeta-slathered meat rolls! I can’t wait to make these for me and my cats!

my sisters and I had a weird obsession with Kevin Costner movies growing up. This was definitely in the top three (after Dances with Wolves and Field of Dreams….sorry Waterworld.)

 

Some good decor bargains if you’re in the market for a cool sofa or some retro lamps:

 

These were ultimately my finds.

THE CART

Need a better look? OK!

this dress is so sad hanging up, but something about the fabric caught my eye. It turns out it’s a knockout

the coup de grace…I shall never love another dress the way I love this one

I also found a couple of X-mas gifts for people, but obviously I’m not going to plaster those all over the internets.

When you’re going thrifting, you can’t really be on the lookout for a specific item. You have to let things happen naturally. If you’re searching for the perfect set of tumblers, you might have to make three or four shopping trips before you really find what you’re looking for, but many times you’ll find some other amazing items along the way (like a brass-plated cast iron pegasus). Half of the fun of thrifting is finding the absurd and the ridiculous, so take your time and enjoy the experience.

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Susan / Jul 30 2012 4:08 pm

    Dude,
    A) That gargoyle is totally “Zoul” from Ghostbusters. (Growly voice) “There is no Dana, only Zoul!”
    B) I happen to love Waterworld. The end.
    3) I can’t believe you didn’t get the kitty salt and pepper shakers!

    • haubertdashery / Jul 30 2012 6:45 pm

      A) also, I think that last dress that I got is the same one Sigourney Weaver wore in that scene.
      B) I didn’t say we didn’t like Waterworld, just that it wasn’t in the top three. I also loved that movie. I think it takes a solid fourth place.
      C) If I bought every cute set of kitty salt and pepper shakers I saw, I wouldn’t have room for actual kitties.

  2. Judy Haubert / Jul 31 2012 10:42 am

    1) I’ll have to see that ‘knockout’ dress on your bod, cause you’re right, it really loses something just hanging there.
    2) Yep, Waterworld makes spot #4, and even though I can’t stand actual baseball, I apparently love baseball movies, the more Kev Costner the better, so I’d like to submit Bull Durham for spot #5. If you haven’t seen it, you should.
    C) I can’t wait to go to Valley Thrift when I’m home, I’m actually planning my suitcase packing all around my possible finds.

  3. thrifthangover / Aug 3 2012 12:51 pm

    Geez- very successful thrift haul! I really like the vases, platter and the yellow necklace 🙂

Leave a Reply

