Skip to content
November 18, 2012 / haubertdashery

San Fran

This weekend marks the first time that I’ve been back to Cali since I moved away in 2005. It was good timing. I’ve been feeling the urge to scratch that seven year Omaha itch.  It’s not that I haven’t been anywhere else in seven years, but going back to a place you previously lived can open your eyes to the good and the bad of your current place of residence.  With that being said, visiting San Francisco is not the same as visiting my old stomping grounds in Monterey. There are a few notable differences…

1) San Francisco is apparently where all three-legged dogs go to heaven.

2) Scratch that. It’s where ALL dogs go to heaven.

I’ve seen hundreds of dogs of the course of the past two days and at least a third of them weren’t wearing leashes. Sounds like dog heaven to me…

3) Macaw flying around the park. I don’t know what else to say.

4) Everyone wears their baby. I’ve maybe seen two strollers since I’ve been here. I’m inclined to think perhaps baby carriers aren’t as prevalent in Omaha because they don’t make them big enough..

FYI, I obviously didn’t take this pic.

5) If you’re a woman and you hang around the Castro, be prepared to be a minority. Sumeet and I walked into a crowded coffee shop last night. I was the only female present.

6) The Castro apparently has a very active nudist population. Plan accordingly. (Sorry, no pic for this one…)

7) Here are some of the places with ridiculous names within a three-block radius of where we are staying:

restaurant

bar

nail salon

hair salon

I’m pretty much in love with this neighborhood. I have a feeling Sumeet and I will be back sooner than later.

Leave a Reply

